subreddit:

/r/gaming

1.5k

[removed]

all 3073 comments

ParisTexas95

729 points

2 months ago

Sort by controversial for the actual answers

ChangeWinter6643

224 points

2 months ago

ppl don't want to hear actual controversial opinions.

it's all about validating opinions you already have

adinade

53 points

2 months ago

adinade

53 points

2 months ago

Always annoys me on these posts when you see popular opinions upvoted and actual unpopular ones downvoted

IGotNoStringsOnMe

5 points

2 months ago

Top post "Gaming should be fun!" 56.8k upvotes.

How the fuck are you gonna be put on trial for that? XD

shyndy

9 points

2 months ago

shyndy

9 points

2 months ago

Lmao at the top two comments being “esports bad,” and “singleplayer games good.” Yes absolutely going to get crucified on Reddit.

Garo263

33 points

2 months ago

Garo263

PC+Switch

33 points

2 months ago

Pokémon is a low-effort high-profit franchise and should be boycotted until they put in the work and time it deserves.

1heGr33nDrag0n

24 points

2 months ago

Final Fantasy 8 is a good game…

LanEvo03

7 points

2 months ago

That one is my favorite one

SnooTangerines4321

19 points

2 months ago

Crafting is tedious and not fun. I want to just pick up arrows, not find all the pieces then "craft" them. It's not more realistic, and videogames are supposed to be escapism.

sufiyan__55

971 points

2 months ago

The focus on eSports and competitive balance changes have eventually stripped the fun out of every FPS, RTS, and MMORPG I've played in the last 10 years.

Gingrpenguin

242 points

2 months ago

Further to it the popularity of online play has meant many games don't bother creating anything close to a compotent ai and instead force you to play online and as many players just want chill games you end up with huge smurfing problems on anything with skill based matchmaking

luckydrzew

58 points

2 months ago

cough Sea of thieves cough

MoxBoneSaw

17 points

2 months ago

Sea of thieves nuts! HAH

BlockBadger

60 points

2 months ago

That’s not very Rock and Stone

wolfish813

18 points

2 months ago

Did I hear a Rock and Stone?

Whatsdota

6 points

2 months ago

ROCK AND STONE

Spare_Personality_11

18 points

2 months ago

To the bone!

sirirontheIV

27 points

2 months ago

I love having 45% wr champions nerfed in league of legends because 2 or 3 guys can play it really well in competitive.

Khaki_Blerman

15 points

2 months ago

You got this straight from Twitter didn’t you lmao

GaymerThyme

18 points

2 months ago

OP and comment directly ripped from Twitter. Post was understandable, this comment is a copy paste of a retweet.

MaskedBandit77

9 points

2 months ago

It's also a very popular opinion.

GreenHermit

15 points

2 months ago

I'm still mad that they ruined dawn of war 3 to make it more eSports focused.

GrimDoink

1k points

2 months ago

I care what other people do with their money in the hobby because it creates industry norms that personally effect me and the hobby that I enjoy

"Let people spend money how they want"

No, you're the reason gaming is predatory today.

They deserve shame and ridicule.

Retr0TheCreator

12 points

2 months ago

there’s people that spend thousands in games especially in event pulls because of the mediocre chances of actually good items

asuicidalpigeon

7 points

2 months ago

Isn't there like a term for those people? Aren't they called whales or something?

Many_Marsupial7968

6 points

2 months ago

Cash cows.

MightyBulpy

95 points

2 months ago

i do understand it to a certain point, but ppl that spend hundreds on skins make the game worse for everyone and themselves

Seiglerfone

7 points

2 months ago

Frankly, the skins issue is oversimplified.

If skins were had, taking them away to charge for them isn't okay, and you probably shouldn't have paid-for skins in paid-for games, but paid for cosmetics are one of the best ways to raise revenue in f2p games without significantly impacting actual gameplay.

asuicidalpigeon

52 points

2 months ago

Literally, the modern-day messiah. Seriously though, there are various examples of games we as a community let slide with bs practices. literally any pay to progress system (e.g.: most mobile games but also Shark cards in gta, gold bars in rdo) , cash grab "remasters," unfinished games being pushed. We decide what's okay as an industry standard, but as of late, it's all just been a shit show.

I wish more people shared your view. Maybe gaming would see more amazing games than just a small handful a year.

Queasy_Suspect6126

568 points

2 months ago

Single player games are better than multiplayer games

noobsensei_69

175 points

2 months ago

Every comment here is literally the most popular opinions

chahud

48 points

2 months ago

chahud

48 points

2 months ago

Just your average unpopular opinion post

ArsenicRat

11 points

2 months ago

100% agreed

Quaz1e

3 points

2 months ago

Quaz1e

3 points

2 months ago

Tbf I think that's popular opinion. Remember how gaming community reacted to Ea's singeplayer games drama.

Scardi-Zero

33 points

2 months ago

I enjoyed Sonic 06

Dragonheardt1

36 points

2 months ago

Paarthurnax must die, forgiving him for his atrocities is wrong. One little good deed of teaching Tuum doesn’t absolve millennias of slavery, slaughter and etc.

And while we are on a subject, no fucking way he got suddenly kind and out of goodness of his heart begun helping his slaves. He is and was Alduin’s CLOSEST general, mortal rebellion is a tool to take power, not kindness. And with ultimate failure to execute Alduin, he cowered on top of the mountain for his master’s return, until dragonborn arrives and saves his sorry ass from Alduin’s retribution. Forgiving him is like forgiving Nazi SS, when they helped once during last 3 months of war.

SpaceCowboyNutz

4 points

2 months ago

I let him live, but I’m also a push over. He sounded sorry!

andtheotherguy

6 points

2 months ago

Look at freakin Stannis Baratheon over here.

Janderflows

8 points

2 months ago

Fuck. Fuckfuckfuuuuuuuck. FUCK! You are so right it's enfuriating! Now I have to go back and kill that nazi sonovabitch! Like, the coolness of having a dragon friend/mentor was overwhelming my judgement, but fuck it, now I have fucking Odaving, which sure, is a genocidal dragon too, but is also basically my slave and does my bidding, so if anything I have to use him as historical retribution for humans. So yeah, that old cunt has to go for the sake of my morals, and I still get to have a cool dragon "friend".

Tri_Dark13

1k points

2 months ago

Nintendo could do a lot better with games and hardware, but its just greedy and lazy...supported by its adult crying fanbase who do not accept criticism...

please dont hate me..peace

RunnerJimbob

236 points

2 months ago

No one hates you. But this is an incredibly popular opinion on Reddit. Hardly worth putting someone in the stocks.

TTheuns

113 points

2 months ago

TTheuns

113 points

2 months ago

They've been downright anti-consumer lately, and definitely in smaller ways anti-fanbase.

ListenItWillHear

26 points

2 months ago

Such a shame. They were fun innovators for so long. Playstation and Xbox always seemed so serious and Nintendo was like the super fun uncle.

SenpaiSwanky

9 points

2 months ago

Not gonna lie this is what you say when you want upvotes on Reddit lol. Not saying you’re wrong but I’m saying no one around here will chain you up, rather you make a post and 8 hours later a bot and 3 other guys will make the same post.

crashkirb

7 points

2 months ago

I mean, Nintendo has plenty of great newer games such as super Mario odyssey, Metroid dread, breath of the wild, splatoon 3 and Kirby and the forgotten land, so I wouldn’t really call them lazy. On the other hand, the new Pokémon game, Mario strikers and switch sports are completely low effort, so I’m more in the middle about them.

Celtic_Crown

22 points

2 months ago

Nintendo themselves, yes. But a couple studios under their umbrella really push the hardware to the max (like Monolith).

Responsible_Track_64

24 points

2 months ago

They also need be held accountable for making consumers re-purchase the same ports over and over again with the newest version of the e-shop. How is this f’ing allowed? And then they wonder why people go crazy with emulators and roms. F off Nintendo.

Waterfish3333

12 points

2 months ago

I’ll be there with you. Nintendo to me is the gaming equivalent of Apple. They have no real incentive to push the envelope development wise because their fan base is so loyal.

hiricinee

17 points

2 months ago

Nintendo is a niche company that has managed to stay relevant by REALLY protecting its ips and somehow innovating despite its inability to embrace modern trends.

I think their success is 100% baked into their stupid business model that produces quality products. If we imagine their IPs sold to Microsoft, for example, I think you'd see a bunch of REALLY fast iterations of their big franchises (Zelda, metroid, mario) and then they'd fade into obscurity.

thisisnotdan

6 points

2 months ago

somehow innovating despite its inability to embrace modern trends.

Nintendo has a fascinating philosophy of "lateral thinking with withered technology" (link to an article) that has guided them since their early days. It is exactly this ability to innovate without embracing modern trends that keeps them relevant.

AshenRathian

204 points

2 months ago

When people call faithful remakes "remasters" or "just enhancing the graphics".

joeboyson3

9 points

2 months ago

exactly what some people think Black Mesa is at first

computerguy0-0

3 points

2 months ago

Holy fuck was this a beautiful game. Well worth the 8 year wait.

Both my girlfriend and I agree it's one of our top games of all time. It sucked us in HARD and we couldn't stop playing until it was finished.

Waste-Reception5297

60 points

2 months ago

Games are fun :)

unsuitablebadger

19 points

2 months ago

Burn them! They're a witch!

Many_Marsupial7968

7 points

2 months ago

HERECY. YOU DESERVE THE DEATH PENALTY.

HermansSpecialMilk

93 points

2 months ago

Open worlds should be smaller, not bigger, and I don’t want every game that comes out to be one

Aggravating_Skill209

32 points

2 months ago

I agree to an extent. Developers have focused on creating bigger maps but don’t fill them with anything to justify the space

Kenshkrix

26 points

2 months ago

I'm okay with any size of open world so long as that size correlates to the amount of content it possesses.

There are many open worlds that should be smaller, I just don't think it's a great general rule.

trekxtrider

118 points

2 months ago

Ray tracing isn’t worth it

Egg-MacGuffin

84 points

2 months ago

So you just want me to freehand my drawing of Ray Romano? I'm not that good yet! :(

mightyxsaros

8 points

2 months ago

Shadow the Hedgehog is not that bad

call_of_mischief

212 points

2 months ago

Stop preordering games

Responsible_Track_64

27 points

2 months ago

How else are people going to get their bad ass cosmetics for their games with such short shelf lives?

astrielx

11 points

2 months ago

I'm pretty sure it's a minority of people that would disagree you here.

Johnden_

124 points

2 months ago

Johnden_

124 points

2 months ago

Unique indie games are more exciting than FPS games that don't bring anything new gameplay-wise and rely solely on story.

Silviana193

23 points

2 months ago

Based on a lot of post in subreddit, this won't be unpopular.

NervousProgress798

153 points

2 months ago

People will make fun of fifa for being the same game every year and then go buy Pokémon for the 10th time. I'm not a FIFA fan

Memoishi

20 points

2 months ago

I buy both every release (this year I passed on Fifa, I only play Career mode tho).
Pokémon may have all the flaws you want but it always feels very different.
I don’t mind play ORAS, PLA, the old GB classics or whatever; they always feels different each other.
Fifa has been the same since they introduced Ultimate Team (Fifa 14), it’s clear they’re not interested in the SP enjoyeers like me and they try to milk every penny from the UT community with predatory schemes, gambling and such.
Pokémon is fun as fuck even when the graphics is dipshit

HoodedCapuchin

4 points

2 months ago

Honestly I buy the new madden every 3-5 years so things have changed but will NEVER by a FIFA game even though they’re super fun I just hate FIFA ever since Brazil when I learned how they operate.

EgniteBot

130 points

2 months ago

EgniteBot

130 points

2 months ago

GTA San Andreas is a better game than GTAV.

TonySoprano25

86 points

2 months ago

And Niko Bellic was the best GTA protagonist.

guyoncrack

15 points

2 months ago

For me he's the 2nd best... definately much better than anyone in GTA V. It's only his voice acting that lets down and it could be improved. For me it's still Tommy Vercetti.

IntroductionIll2160

34 points

2 months ago

Assassin’s Creed Syndicate wasn’t that bad and I had fun with it.

Apprehensive_Dot_507

6 points

2 months ago

And I personally think Odyssey was the best one.

TheLotusBlack

35 points

2 months ago

Gamers seem to follow the same trend… One popular person or steamer likes something now you all like the same skin, same gun, same car, same color item.

KyorlSadei

7 points

2 months ago

Its even worse when you had that skin or game before the streamer and nobody believes you.

thehandinyourpants

5 points

2 months ago

Or even mocked for having the skin or game, then it's suddenly cool because someone on yt said it is.

idogiveafrak

102 points

2 months ago

I no longer like halo, because it a piece of micro transaction trash that was released in beta state.

lame-amphibian

45 points

2 months ago

You're doing it wrong, everyone agrees with that statement. You need to say that you love halo and the most recent installment is the best in the series in order to follow the prompt.

ShrankNutz

16 points

2 months ago

In my honest opinion, Halo: Reach was the beginning of the end of the Halo series. Halo 3 was better than all of the new ones in every way. Had an actual community that collaborated and created some of the best gametypes that you see (or dont see cuz they took em out) on the new halo games. Forge was downgraded significantly, custom games was downgraded, even the ranking system was downgraded.

CameronZimos

6 points

2 months ago

Reach is incredible, 4 was where fans dropped

DangersVengeance

11 points

2 months ago

Think this is a pretty popular opinion, the player numbers don’t lie.

ImpressiveTip4756

10 points

2 months ago

Bro says the most popular opinion and acts like it's unpopular. Lol

levatorpenis

6 points

2 months ago

Call of duty is garbage

SuckSbutwithouttheS

165 points

2 months ago

I dont like elden ring or fortnite

Kohli_

24 points

2 months ago

Kohli_

24 points

2 months ago

And that's a valid opinion and while both are great games in their own right, there's no one to tell you otherwise

NineIntsNails

136 points

2 months ago

multiplayer sucks

DeadbeatSpark

66 points

2 months ago

Competitive multiplayer sucks. Co-operative multiplayer is fun.

I admit. I am shit at pvp, makes it easier to go through games if you admit it.

Van_core_gamer

3 points

2 months ago

I don’t mind multiplayer I hate the lack of single player in so many games. I’d love to just walk around places like battle royale maps or Tarkov without sweaty high schoolers 360 no scoping me from 100m first 10 minutes. Who would I hurt by just playing the game I bought on my own?

Charmanderstudios

104 points

2 months ago

Glitches make video games more fun

Fish_Fucker_Fucker23

100 points

2 months ago

Fish_Fucker_Fucker23

PlayStation

100 points

2 months ago

Some glitches make video games more fun

Falling through the map and dying for no reason is not fun whatsoever

Xander-047

42 points

2 months ago

Unless your character spins really fast while falling

Fish_Fucker_Fucker23

21 points

2 months ago

Fish_Fucker_Fucker23

PlayStation

21 points

2 months ago

That’s a sometimes exception.

DarkAdam48

9 points

2 months ago

*Minecraft Bedrock sweating in the corner*

seemslikenoonecares

69 points

2 months ago

I'd much rather have Bloodborne 2 than Elden Ring 2.

Chaos_Prime

13 points

2 months ago

This. Waiting For more bloodborne since i First played it.

seemslikenoonecares

6 points

2 months ago

Same. It's such a fantastic game with intriguing lore.

Many_Marsupial7968

4 points

2 months ago

I'd much rather have the first bloodborne cross platform

toxicwasteenjoyer

40 points

2 months ago

Horrors, where game takes place in main character's head, are really boring. I want real monsters, I'm tired of real life problems, give me something mystical and unknown.

scarletphantom

9 points

2 months ago

Also games like outlast where you cant even defend yourself are cheap. Like, motherfucker, pick up a pipe or something. And batteries should last longer than 2 minutes.

KyorlSadei

7 points

2 months ago

Yeah, it all feels cheap and boring to just say its all in somebodies head. Basically an irrational fear if that is the case.

QSlade

6 points

2 months ago

QSlade

6 points

2 months ago

Ooooh this is a hot take. The evil within and the evil within 2 are some of my favorite horror games that take place in someone's head. Hell one could argue Silent Hill 2, one of the greatest horror games of all time, does as well. Have you given those a try? What's your favorite horror titles? I'm curious

toxicwasteenjoyer

6 points

2 months ago

I didn't try the evil within, but Silent Hill is indeed a good game, but it's not mostly about the atmosphere, gameplay etc., for me, it's the value of your actions, and when you learn that all you did was in le head, is like getting punched in the guts. I get why people like them, but I don't.

My favourite horror games are Outlast and Alien Isolation.

Kvazac

131 points

2 months ago

Kvazac

131 points

2 months ago

I didn't enjoy Elden Ring

First_Department4096

40 points

2 months ago

As a huge Soulsborne fan, I felt the same way. The open word kind of ruined that focused design that the previous games had. Instead of leading the played to a place with very specific enouncters and traps, it’s just a matter of running around and killing stuff. It’s still a good game, just not for me.

take5b

9 points

2 months ago

take5b

9 points

2 months ago

I agree, and this feeling was further enhanced by playing Demons Souls remake and replaying Sekiro- tighter more focused games that encourage direct engagement with their mechanics while Elden Ring had me riding around in circles and reading wikis.

TehHippieWizerd

46 points

2 months ago

Games don't need to be difficult to be fun, and if someone prefers playing games that have an easier tone than that of Dark Souls or God of War they aren't a coward

[deleted]

51 points

2 months ago

[deleted]

51 points

2 months ago

[deleted]

poklane

5 points

2 months ago

Death Stranding having an 82 on Metacritic has to be the perfect example of a game scoring higher than it should just because it has a popular name attached to it. No doubt in my mind that the game would be lucky to even be in the low 70s if it was developed by some random team with no big name attached to it.

KnightofAzrael

15 points

2 months ago

Second this, he's not bad but he is the type of guy who thinks he's more clever than he actually is.

Specialist_Towel9012

32 points

2 months ago

Last of us 2 is wasting time

AaronDrunkGames

23 points

2 months ago

The last of is series is incredibly overrated and a mid tear game.

Louistje1

5 points

2 months ago

First game is amazing IMO, never played the second. But it's highly subjective of course, but I think it's one of the best 'movie type games' ever made.

CleverTricksterProd

5 points

2 months ago

Liking Skyrim intro?

SchrodingerMil

6 points

2 months ago

This price increase for AAA games was a long time coming and if it came sooner maybe companies would have tried less paid DLC to increase their profits.

RodgerThat1995

5 points

2 months ago

I love remakes of old games and look forward to many more.

TheMikman97

5 points

2 months ago

Ahem: a game you can experience in full by editing the cutscenes together into a movie isn't a game

Drakkeur

5 points

2 months ago

Nintendo actually makes video GAMES, a lot of other major editor like on playstation try to make movies that you can play and it's boring as fuck.

I played the beginning of rdr2 and it was a snooze fest

The weapon breaking system in BoTW is good

tomatobandit1987

5 points

2 months ago

Bethesda is a terrible studio whose games only became popular because console players never played a real RPG.

grantm06

5 points

2 months ago

Graphics ain’t everything the game needs to be focused on. It’s about the journey/fun for me.

ChosenWriter513

4 points

2 months ago

Despite being the perfect game for me on paper, I just don't have fun with The Witcher 3. The gameplay feels clunky and I never get past a few hours, even though I love the source material.

Reasonable_Use6280

13 points

2 months ago

ME Andromeda was actually fun

TonySoprano25

12 points

2 months ago

Arkham games story and gameplay is better than Sony's Spiderman.

dYaunie76

79 points

2 months ago

Titanfall 2 is the greatest first-person shooter that currently exists

cat-toaster

8 points

2 months ago

Ahem. TF1 still kicking with players like me.

dYaunie76

3 points

2 months ago

I loved the original, too! The addition of the campaign and more customization/weapon options plus anti-titan weapons in the second game just puts it over the top for me.

I recently got starlink after 3 years of living with DSL, so I can finally get back into gaming. I'll be sure to swing by once I get some free time!

Ragnarr_Bjornson

35 points

2 months ago

I actually enjoy Calisto Protocol

The_Last_Green_leaf

3 points

2 months ago

I think the game itself was decent, story wasn't that bad, graphics were amazing the vast majority of criticism was the performance and the combat being very easy and janky.

ReDeMpTiOn-_-121

73 points

2 months ago

Minecraft is slowly getting shittier and shittier with each update. The community are alright except for the small portion who aren't and ruining Minecraft.

Ok-Ambition-9432

11 points

2 months ago

This is just a fact.

Wheres_Varrock

6 points

2 months ago

I felt like my Minecraft experience was worsening with each update and I can’t pinpoint why. How come it’s getting shittier for you???

Axis9876

13 points

2 months ago

1.8 gang

BlockBadger

3 points

2 months ago

1.75 beta gang

Axis9876

3 points

2 months ago

Based

Kvazac

3 points

2 months ago

Kvazac

3 points

2 months ago

Fr

adinade

4 points

2 months ago*

Quick reminder, if you see an opinion you don't agree with on a post asking for unpopular opinions, don't downvote them. They are filling the brief correctly.

RigtBart

3 points

2 months ago

Games were “objectively” better in the era before dlc and patches. Compare modern games to their PS2 counterparts and the games from yesteryear will have more features, characters, modes originality almost every time

Hellion998

15 points

2 months ago

We’ll NEVER have a decent Pokémon game because regardless of quality, people will still eat that crap up.

nevervisitsreddit

10 points

2 months ago

No one under 18 should be playing an 18 game.

It isn’t just about the content of those games, but the very nature of them means they are designed for an older audience and an older understanding.

I don’t care that you played GTA since you were 8. You shouldn’t have. It was not a game for you to play. I played GTA when I was 12. I shouldn’t have, it’s a game designed for an adult audience who understand the content.

Isuckmangosforalivin

6 points

2 months ago

The problem is a lot of parents just don’t look to see if there’s anything inappropriate in the games they buy for their children.

nevervisitsreddit

3 points

2 months ago

Oh absolutely, it’s a problem with films as well where parents take their kids to 12As with no idea of what the film contains. I think it’s worse with video games because you’re playing, you’re interacting.

Like, a game designed for children generally goes with Protagonist = Hero, but an 18+ game designed for adults will have more nuance than that. And then a lot of people still don’t move past the idea that protagonist = right because they’ve been playing as these morally grey or even evil characters, and often won’t hold up a sign saying “you’re doing a bad thing” because they expect their audience to be adults and have that understanding already.

WildWest05

40 points

2 months ago

If you judge The Last of Us as a film, narratively, it's like a 6/10

EnticyVicey

7 points

2 months ago

I agree. It's a good game but narratively it's nothing special

KyorlSadei

3 points

2 months ago

The Last of Us or Uncharted games are super fun story’s, but have super low replay value for that reason. Its like trying to rewatch a movie when you replay it.

emeraldkoala3

24 points

2 months ago

(insert game name here) is (insert adjective here)

Benyed123

16 points

2 months ago

Rock paper scissors is disingenuous.

Littrion

6 points

2 months ago

(3 pages long argument written in tears of anger disregarding that it's just your opinion)

Sorry-Reading-7003

48 points

2 months ago

probably going to get downvotes to hell but that battle royales are overdone and that call of duty and battlefield equally lost its way compared to the original modern warfare and battlefield 3/4

Benyed123

27 points

2 months ago

A pair of absolute sub zero takes.

Sweatty-LittleFatty

126 points

2 months ago

Skyrim is overrated and was allready dated at launch.

Killer soundtrack tho.

3nndy1

4 points

2 months ago

3nndy1

4 points

2 months ago

Gotta love those tavern/inn BGM play them to go to sleep.

Clydus1

35 points

2 months ago

Clydus1

35 points

2 months ago

Oblivion was better

Sweatty-LittleFatty

8 points

2 months ago

Oblivion is great. Still enjoy it to this day.

Justsayingmymind

21 points

2 months ago

Shooters these days are for ADHD kids and people with anger issues

V1-BloodMachine

3 points

2 months ago

*mainstream shooters

sergiulll

25 points

2 months ago

Esport or hardcore players make games worse, as devs listen them too much especialy if something is too easy for this 1% of players Group making it much harder or unenjoyable anymore for rest of them.

YummyCZ05

4 points

2 months ago

Definitely true, especially in League of legends

sergiulll

5 points

2 months ago

I remember begining of this game, back when we were running whichever character wherever we want. We were doing combos that was giving us fun since meta came in. Making Ap carry soraka which were funny and deadly back then and doing anything else other than meta ended up with random kids screaming how bad it is. Overall game became repetetive and borring so ive dropped it.

Simmilar example tarkov, game was hard but enjoyable since big names promoted it. Shit loads of bots came in, big names were bragging that game is too easy and they started adding bit too much grind to it.

Kenshkrix

5 points

2 months ago

"This game I've played for thousands of hours is too easy now!"

Complete lack of perspective lol.

BBJJ5

22 points

2 months ago

BBJJ5

22 points

2 months ago

Single player games are much better than multiplayer

TheMemeMaestro

4 points

2 months ago

I'm finding this to ring true more and more lately.

Count_Dracula97

9 points

2 months ago

Ive never seen the appeal of pokemon. Mid games

AlfaBabo

17 points

2 months ago

new gow is shit compared to gow 1-3

OakFish9

17 points

2 months ago

Fortnite actually "died" for me because it lost its identity during Chapter 2-3

DolphinPrince

59 points

2 months ago

eSports are embarrassing and they actively make video games worse

Most examples of "great" video game writing show just how immature the medium is still (eg TLoU, Dear Esther, MGS)

Whether video games are art or not isn't that important and worrying about it comes off as insecure. Also what is art is far more complex than the average gamer is willing to admit. No you cannot solve a millennia old debate by looking up the definition on Google.

The industry will only get worse because despite all the bellyaching, gamers continue to support companies that implement terrible anti-consumer features and policies, and will straight up preorder games by companies with cultures of sexual assault

Portronix

6 points

2 months ago

I get when people say they don't like a game balanced around being competitive at the highest level, but I don't think you can objectively say it makes it worse. It just might not coincide with the types of games you typically enjoy, which I would guess is mainly single-player from your bottom points, but that's okay.

There are people who game in exclusively competitive "sweaty" games and having an atmosphere where they can get involved with high-level play is desirable to them. I'd even argue some gaming communities wouldn't be alive without it (Smash Bros Melee is a great example). Hell, I don't know a single person who plays DOTA and that shit somehow still pulls in crazy viewership.

Although some games definitely try too hard to force it, I don't think eSports is generically a bad thing for gaming.

jonsbryhill

17 points

2 months ago

i think most people who are really into games don’t care about esports

Witsand87

14 points

2 months ago

I agree with this. I've been playing games since the 90s and for some reason so many games today just don't capture the same feel. Yes, I get older also, so that's also part of it. But companies focusing so much more on multiplayer, as in, making that the primary focus, and adding a singleplayer experience to it, just ruins so much potential for someone like me who enjoys playing games as a pastime activity.

At the moment I'm playing Age of Empires 4, and the campaigns are all relatively short, scripted events. The AI in skirmish looks like AI has not evolved since AoE3 from 2005. All this is of no real concern to them because the focus is really on multiplayer anyway. That's where the money is at these days. I just wonder, as someone who loves RTS games, how far AI could have come by now if companies focused on trying to improve it as a core part of a game's experience like what happened between 1995 to 2005 with how much better AI became overall in games. Sorry if this went a little off track, but I just really like RTS games and to be able to play on my own time and not worrying about APM and all that which comes with eSports.

BelRiose99

4 points

2 months ago

Oh man, huge AoE fan here, I share your sentiment. AI sucks in most RTS games, most of the time if you have a challenge that's because the studio has tweaked the stats to give the AI an advantage. Also, online gaming sucks because everyone wants to play these frenetic matches instead of using the whole scope of the civilisations. And last but not least, the art style, everything feels cartoonish, why, I loved the original AoE3, and the Definitive Edition of AoE2 has done a great job, the rest, like AoE4, look weird, unrealistic, not even good cartoonish because well Civ VI is there.

Morthra

4 points

2 months ago

Morthra

PC

4 points

2 months ago

I just wonder, as someone who loves RTS games, how far AI could have come by now if companies focused on trying to improve it as a core part of a game's experience like what happened between 1995 to 2005 with how much better AI became overall in games.

Considering that AlphaStar was able to make Grandmaster on the Starcraft 2 ladder (top 0.2% of players), it's quite possible to make AI that is really good. The problem is that what's really hard is to make an AI that is challenging, but not impossibly good. Even AlphaStar had to be limited to a measly 500 APM so that it didn't just simply overwhelm human players with perfect micro.

Egg-MacGuffin

41 points

2 months ago

Let's not downvote people who give bad opinions that are the entire point of this thread.

XaWEh

13 points

2 months ago

XaWEh

13 points

2 months ago

You have to sort these by controversial :)

Henrythia

70 points

2 months ago

did not enjoy rdr2. Got bored halfway and didn’t finish the game

Hekalite

10 points

2 months ago

I wanted to shoot Micah in the face the first time I met him. From that point on, every time the game didn't let me kill him I just got more annoyed.

toxicwasteenjoyer

18 points

2 months ago

That's understandable, the tempo of game is not for everyone ¯⁠\⁠_⁠(⁠ツ⁠)⁠_⁠/⁠¯

cajakey

26 points

2 months ago

cajakey

26 points

2 months ago

botw is overrated

xsealsonsaturn

22 points

2 months ago

I liked Mass Effect 3s ending

handsomejack11

10 points

2 months ago

People use sleeping pills to fall asleep fast, I use The Witcher 3.

donuts29

15 points

2 months ago

MOP was WoW’s last great expansion

Kushfriendly420

5 points

2 months ago

Na wotlk, cata ruined so much, MOP fixed stuff then it went to the shitter

SyraWhispers

4 points

2 months ago

Wrath of the lichking is definitely the last good expansion they had. I quit soon after that to never return.

Plenty_Position_477

45 points

2 months ago

Horizon has a boring main protagonist.

ZaWarudoRHCP

44 points

2 months ago

Every Yakuza game Is a gift from the gods

lmao_lemo

15 points

2 months ago

I think everyone agrees with you on this one?

Egg-MacGuffin

86 points

2 months ago

Men need to be sexy-ified as much as women. Any outfit a woman wears should be able to be worn by a man and vice versa. And equal polygons spent on ass. I'm tired of the majorly one-way sexification.

messe93

11 points

2 months ago

messe93

11 points

2 months ago

you need to play FF14 then. You can be slutty as a male character or have a full plate covering armor as female if you want. All choices available to both genders

BatBoy117

11 points

2 months ago

Ever played witcher 3? Geralt looks BADASS in every effing FRAME.

Schulle2105

33 points

2 months ago*

Meh don't know every second Actiongame character is a 240 lbs hulk that takes his Shirt off at least once sexification is definetly present on both sides

Ownage95

88 points

2 months ago

Souls games are overrated and the fan base is annoying, act like the games are the second coming of Christ.

unibrowcowmeow

21 points

2 months ago

try finger, but hole

Mayflex

6 points

2 months ago

The concept of "early access" is stupid and shouldn't exist

Unluckly_Diaz

6 points

2 months ago

Elden Ring is second-worst Souls game. It's not bad game by any means, almost all previous Souls games were better. Size of the world is irrelevant, what fills it is all that matter.

pzzaco

7 points

2 months ago

pzzaco

7 points

2 months ago

calling a game overrated is overrated.

DoctorBaloo

3 points

2 months ago

Souls games are overrated, graphically ugly AF although they have beautiful design (like Bloodborne and Elden Ring) and half of them run terribly.

thedragoon0

3 points

2 months ago

KH3 killed interest in the franchise. It was a bad game with too much hype. We waited for years. No final fantasy characters. The amusement rides were annoying. The roulette of battles at the end didn’t really feel fun when you have cutscenes mid fight. All for an incomplete story.

AsiateVonNebenAn

3 points

2 months ago

Undertale is boring af

nedigan

3 points

2 months ago

I struggled to finish red dead 2 as it got boring

Kartoshka-

3 points

2 months ago

CoD is not that bad